Is there a Doctor in the House?

Toto, where are you?!?

Posted on: July 16, 2009

I’m beginning to feel like Dorothy, in the Wizard of Oz … lost in a strange world; tired and hungry (it’s tough to eat well living in rez).  I guess the funnel clouds before summer session began was a little foreshadowing of what I was in for.  Disoriented and disconnected, craving more meaningful face-to-face contact to develop personal relationships with my classmates (as Dorothy had the opportunity to do with Tinman, Scarecrow and Lion as they stumbled along together trying to follow the yellow brick road).  Unfortunately, I feel as though too many of my classmates are more like the Wizard of Oz behind the veiled curtain of their computer screens. 

I find it ironic that we were brought together on campus, but most of my time is spent in front of a computer during class and in my dorm room reading or on my laptop researching and writing trying to keep up on all the coursework .  While I agree with Dr. Jacobsen we are developing an on-line community with our Blackboard posts and blogs, I can’t help but feel at the expense of what and wonder isn’t there a better compromise?  We’ll be doing that when we are back in our home towns doing our on-line courses so should so much of my time be devoted to it now? 

While I enjoy reading people’s posts on Blackboard and checking out your blogs, I honestly do not have a face for all the names yet and there is a disconnect for me between our class time and our screen time.  At the BBQ today I was struck by the fact that when a classmate joined our table and sat by the person who has been accross from her in the computer lab the past 3 afternoons, she did not know her name.  Honestly if I had 16 pictures and our 16 names I would be able to match 8-10.  How about you?  That makes it difficult for me to connect what you share live in class to what you post on-line.  Should my time here be monopolized by so much screen time?  I would like the opportunity to get to know you all more on a personal level since we are such a diverse group with unique strengths.  Even the wizard of oz eventually came out from behind the veiled curtain!

Craving contact … maybe I should have brought a dog or packed a pair of glittery red shoes.

Leave a Reply

July 2009
M T W T F S S
     
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
